• SAR Membership

    Southern Arizona Roadrunners is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting health and fitness in Tucson and Southern Arizona through running and walking. Join today and get discounts to many local businesses, discounts to all SAR events and support the great work we do! JOIN TODAY!

  • Dr. Gann’s Diet of Hope Cinco De Mayo 10K/5K - 5/6/18

    The 38th annual edition of Tucson’s largest and most scenic 10K and 5K winds its way through Starr Pass in the foothills of the Tucson Mountains. Run or walk the gorgeous course with beautiful mountain scenery and great views of the Tucson basin.  Afterwards, join us for a Cinco de Mayo Celebration featuring the Cholla High School mariachi band.

  • Tucson 5000 and Mother’s Day Mile - 5/13/18

    One of the fastest 5Ks in the West! This pancake-flat, fast USATF certified course provides the perfect opportunity for a 5K PR. This race has been a Tucson staple for over 20 years with 20+ of the current Arizona age records for the 5k being set at the Tucson 5000!

  • TMC Meet Me Downtown 5k Night Run & Festival of Miles - 6/2/18

    Known as MMD the race has become a city-wide block party, featuring a free children’s race, children’s activities, a beer garden and food trucks, a beneficiary and vendor expo, rock n’ roll bands, and an awesome after-party at iconic Hotel Congress.  The free beer and after-party ensures lots and lots of fun, while the flat course, thousands of dollars in prize money, and age group awards ensures some serious speed-demon running.

Latest News:


Apr 20, 2018

Register now for the Dr. Gann's Diet of Hope 10k, 5k.  Prices increase at 11:59 PM on April 21st.  You don't want to miss this Fitness Fiesta!  There's a race for everyone in the family PLUS a mariachi performance, breakfast burritos, pinatas, churros and more!  Come for the run, come for the fun!


Update Schedule for June 2 TMC Meet Me Downtown: Miles, Battle of the Badges, FitKidz, 5k Night Run

Apr 19, 2018

Saturday Night, June 2: 12th Annual TMC Meet Me Downtown 5k Night Run and Walk -- Tucson's biggest running party!  

4:00: Registration begins at Children's Museum and Armory Park

  • with jumping castles, vendor expo and other activities -- free entry to the Children's Museum 
  • pick up your Gabe Zimmerman Triple Crown medallion and shirt
  • pick up your TMC Meet Me Downtown race shirt and race number

5:45 or so: Tucson's Santa Pachita begins to rock the house

6:00: Men's and Women's Mile, for all ages and abilities, including prize money and awards for the RRCA West Regional Championship  -- tutus and joggers and all are welcome!

  • Beer Garden Opens, with AmstelXlight and Dos Equis, plus White Claw Spritzer

6:15: Battle of the Badges for all first responders, civil servants, fire department, border patrol, and military, including Team RWB

6:30: FitKidz Free Mile for Children 12-and-under

7:00: TMC 5k Night Run/Walk -- for all ages and abilities, including the RRCA State 5k Championship

Ongoing: party on site, with After-Party at Hotel Congress


Sabino Canyon Sunset Run 2018 Photos Posted!

Apr 19, 2018

Visit the SAR Facebook page HERE to see some awesome photos of the event from Selena Valencia Phtoography! Also, don't forget to see other great photos on FB by visiting The Damion Alexander Team and GOATographer!

Thanks to all for another great event!

Steve Outridge

Sabino RD


SAR Member Boston Marathon Results 2018

Apr 18, 2018

Our Grand Prix results guru, Mr. Mike WIlson, has scanned the 2018 Boston Marathon results for SAR Members past and present and created a results page for them. Please check it out HERE. Thanks much, Mike!


Sabino Canyon Sunset Run 2018 - Race Recap!

Apr 15, 2018

This year’s Sabino Canyon Sunset Run fell on a wonderful weather day where we managed to miss the extremely hot weather from earlier in the week and the tremendous winds that Thursday and Friday brought to our desert community. The cooler temps and light breezes led to some really fast times.

The men’s crown was won by local standout Kurt Michels in a blistering 40:59. Second place male was Max Miller in 43:07 and third was Adam Fultz in 44:28. The overall Masters Male winner was Matthew Sheremeta in an impressive 44:50.

The fastest woman this year was Christine Schleifer from Germany in an outstanding 46:03. Second place was Morgan Boding in 49:31 and third was Aleta Jokisch in 50:29. The Master’s Champion was Anne Neuenschwander in a speedy 51:48.

Our youngest finisher was 9 year old Gabriella Belanger in a stellar time of 1:34:39. Way to go Gabriella! Our most seasoned finishers, both at 81 years of age, were Paul Robilla and Lee Joseph. Great job, guys! In fact, Paul posted an outstanding time of 1:11:47 which put him inside of the top 50% of all finishers!

A huge thank you to a large cast of volunteers without whom we wouldn’t have had an event. Our apologies to anyone we may have inadvertently left off this list. Steve and Shery Felde, Laura Marshall, Georgia Ehlers, Connie Lopez, Carolyn Audilet, Mary Young, Heather Hopkins, Kyle, Emily, and Ella Johnson, Kelly Mack, Don Taylor, Gary Parcher, Monica Bermudez, Tom Gormley, Joe Plassmann, Caroline Gardner, Raquel Cali, Austin Grover, Joe Faulk, Delaney Schnell, Clio Yasenchack, Mely Bohlman, Robin Reineke, Tim Bentley, Michelle Hawk, Diane Manzini, Martha Castillon, Myk Brown and Michael Hall.

We must also make sure to thank our incredible sponsors, Summit Hut, Performance Footwear, Proactive Physical Therapy, Donate Life Arizona, Risky Business and Papa Johns. Others to thank include the Forest Service, Friends of Sabino Canyon, Selena Valencia Photography, Damien Alexander with the Damien Alexander team from Long Realty, Kerry Whelan, the GOATographer, and a few great folks whose names I don’t know who helped us work on the issue we had trying to get our microphone working.

Until next year, keep running, and have you renewed your SAR membership?

Steve Outridge
Race Director, Sabino Canyon Sunset Run



The Southern Arizona Roadrunners is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting health and fitness in Tucson and Southern Arizona through running and walking.

southern arizona road runners